All change for GCSE's and A-Levels

All change for GCSE's and A-Levels

2017 has been all change for the all important GCSE and A level qualifications, and Independent UK Boarding Schools, Colleges and State Schools alike are in the midst of major transformation. Back in October 2016, The Department for Education announced some significant changes to the GCSE, AS and A-level exams, with the aim of making them more "fit for purpose".

A new Grading Scale

Perhaps the biggest change is the GCSE Grading Scale; grading will move to a 9-1 scale, with grade nine being roughly equivalent to a top A* grade and a grade four equivalent to a low to mid grade C. GCSE students who received results this summer were the first to receive results under this number system, but only in English literature, English language and maths.

GCSE Grading Scale Comparison

The removal of examination modules for A-Levels will also take effect from the 2017 academic year, and will mean that all exams will now be taken at the end of the course in Year 13. Students will therefore no longer be able to retake modules in the hope of improving their overall grade. Coursework and controlled assessment will disappear from most subjects, apart from practical ones such as art, dance and drama. Grades will however continue to be awarded on an A*-E scale.

Check out the video below for a further in-depth look at the changes occuring in the British Education System

changes occuring in the British Education System.

Our Partner Schools have done exceptionally well with the changes. See for yourself, by reading our Bright Eye - Results Special.

Posted on October 30th, 2017 @ 4:36 PM



There are currently no comments for this post, use the form below to be the first!.

Leave a Comment

Your personal details will not be passed on to third parties.